Where did all the Website professionals go?

FallingThroughCracks

In the early years of my career, there were only a few of us who specialized in corporate website strategy. It required specific skills of seeing around corners, being able to speak with and manage talent in technology, design, and writing. Then it included managing more personalities as Information architects, User Experience designer, User interface designers with front end development skills, and other overlapping skilled talented people.

As my career morphed into general digital strategy with deep roots in corporate website strategy was sent out to digital design studios, I had to reinvent myself. I have both broad and deep skills in competing areas. I understood that as digital marketing became more about SEO/SEM and a new field called “Content Marketing” emerged, the place for me to thrive became vague.  As an early leader in “Social Media” using bulletin boards, AOL and more, I determined that the integrated marketing professional…

View original post 402 more words

